Taranaki Women's 2016/2017 Prizegiving - Friday 27th January 2017

The Taranaki Women had their prizegiving on Friday night at the Good Home. It was a successful season for the Taranaki Women finishing second in the Mike Shrimpton Trophy Competition.

Many thanks to our Player/Coach Aimee Watkins, her knowledge on and off the field was invaluable to the young side who will be a force to reckon with next year. Big thanks to Peter Wisnewski the Manager of the team whose management skills were a great asset, continually making things run smoothly off the field :)

Congratulations to our prizewinners...
Davies Trophy - Sportswoman of the Year (MVP) - Kate Baxter
Copelin Trophy - Most Improved Player - Taila Hurley
Hurley Family Trophy - Best Batswoman - Kate Baxter
Angela Buckland Trophy - Best Bowler - Aimee Watkins
Players Player - Kate Baxter

All the best to Kate Baxter who is leaving us in July to travel overseas, she will be missed! Safe travels.

Also our best wishes and thanks to Gill Hurley who has resigned from her position as Taranaki Cricket Women's & Girls Director. Gill has put in an immense amount of work into Women's & Girls cricket and it is great to see so many girls now playing the sport and loving it. Thanks Gill :)


Congratulations to Kate Baxter for being named in the Central District Hinds for the 2016/2017 season.  Also to Mel Megaw, Monique Rees and Emily Cunningham for being named in the Central Districts U21 team. The CD U21 team will compete in the U21 National Tournament to be held in Auckland from the 15th -21st December 2016.

Taranaki Women's Cricket team competes in the Central Districts Women's Inter-district competition for the Mike Shrimpton Trophy.

Taranaki Women 2016/2017 ~ Game Schedule 

30th October 2016 – Taranaki  v Wellington (Pre season in Levin) 

The Taranaki Women had a close pre season game Sunday with Wellington Development winning by 7 runs. Taranaki winning the toss and putting Wellington in to bat first, bowling them all out for 143 off 40 overs. Some great bowling by Taranaki with Flo Cunningham collecting 3 wickets, Taila Hurley, Amy Foreman and Monique Rees all collecting 2 wickets each. 
Taranaki went into bat and were looking close to a win with some outstanding batting by Aimee Wisnewski with 21 runs well supported by Aimee Watkins 15 not out. Unfortunately it wasn't Taranaki's day and were just short on 137 after 45 overs.

6th November 2016 – Taranaki v Wairarapa at Wanganui   ---   Scorecard

Taranaki Women beat Wairarapa in the first of their Mike Shrimpton Trophy matches. Second round game (first round was a bye). The match was played at Victoria Park in Wanganui on Sunday.

Wairarapa won the toss & chose to bat and were all out in the 49th over for 162. Great bowling by Taranaki with Kelsey Husband 4-33, Kate Baxter 2-17, Sophie Gurnsey 2-27 & Taila Hurley 2-31

Taranaki in reply 165-6 with Aimee Watkins 46 not out & Kate Baxter 44.

20th November 2016 – Taranaki  v Manawatu at Pukekura Park 

11th December 2016 – Taranaki  v Hawkes Bay at Wanganui

Taranaki Women had a good win against Hawkes Bay Women
at Victoria Park Wanganui on Sunday in round four of the Mike Shrimpton Trophy 50 over match.

Taranaki won the toss & batted first making 218-8, with Kate Baxter 58, Taila Hurley 42 & Aimee Watkins 23. 
Baxter & Watkins (62 run 5th wicket partnership) & Baxter & Hurley (57 run 6th wicket partnership).

In reply Hawkes Bay were bowled out for 173 in the 45th over. Aimee Watkins 5-22 from 7.1 overs & Megan Washington 3-32 from 9 overs

22nd January 2017 – Taranaki  v Wanganui at Wanganui - Cancelled due to rain